They

…are the reason this blog has remained quiet for a year.
…are similar and completely unique.
…make chugging a cold cup of coffee normal.
…inspire me to cook, innovate, be intentional, and create.  and suck all of the energy away that I have to do those things. sometimes by 6:45 a.m.
…are 6, 2, and 2.
…make me one of many millions in a community of parents who share a bond over this relationship we live.
…can turn my house from tidy to Armageddon in 2.4 seconds.
…are responsible for making sure I have someone else’s food or drink on my person at all times. (and by “on my person,” I don’t mean a closed sippy cup or neatly wrapped snack in my purse)
…have made my marriage stronger and harder.
…were all cloth diapered and breastfed.  and made the day I donated my Medela pump one of the happiest of my parenting existence. and I’m really proud of sticking to what I thought was best.
…make me cry.  proud tears, nostalgic tears, exhausted tears, doubting myself tears.  again, sometimes all by 6:45 a.m.
…eat a lot of groceries. so. many. gallons. of. milk.
…have re-shaped my body in some unfortunate ways.  and made me care less about that and more about keeping it healthy enough to be around to see grandchildren.
…have given me a deep appreciation for the beauty of well-written children’s books and programming.
…make it hard to keep up with the things it takes to be a grown-up.  the amount of important everything that I forget on a daily basis is staggering.
…can make a day seem like it will never end while simultaneously making me wonder how they are growing up so fast.
…are a really good cover for keeping things like mac n’ cheese, oreos, chicken nuggets, and string cheese in the house.
…make putting them first a mostly guilt-free decision.
…have given me time to write this post by finally all being in bed.

2 thoughts on “They

Leave a Reply

